My new perspective on multisport events

2016-chf-me-shannon-tom-1

The Carl Hart Fall Duathlon was established in 1991 and was taken on several years later by Steve’s company,  EventPower.  After Steve passed in 2015, I thought I was done with the triathlon and multisport world which had been such a big part of my life with Steve for so many years.  My feelings about this were mixed since there were so many fond memories of the events, yet some sad ones as well during the final two years of Steve’s life.  One thing I knew I wouldn’t miss would be waking up before dawn to go to these races.

Airborne Tri Team has given me purpose to re-ignite the passion I once had attending these events.  It is so bittersweet.  This year, before the race, as I looked over the transition area, my heart was filled with pride for what Steve had built ……filled with admiration for the new owners, friends of Steve, who are continuing Steve’s legacy in a way he would have approved. …filled with happiness to see the long time staff, so loyal to Steve, who are still working hard to make these events a success.

I participated in a relay with Airborne Tri Team (ATT) at the 2016 event.  Tom was my biker and Shannon did the first leg run and walked with me for the second leg run and the three of us as a team, crossed the finish together.   ATT has embraced me as one of their own and I am so honored to be a part of their team and thankful they have given me a different perspective on appreciating all of what Steve had accomplished.

And of course, after we all finished,  we did our 22 pushups (to honor the approximately 22 veterans lost to suicide every day),  plus one in memory of Steve and all the other civilians who have taken their own lives.

www.SlippedAway.org

Leave a Reply

